Accreditation and Affiliations

University of the Southwest is an accredited member of the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) with headquarters in Chicago, Illinois, one of the six regional agencies that evaluate educational institutions. The accreditation process assesses such characteristics as governance and administration, financial stability, admissions and student personnel services,institutional resources, student academic achievement, institutional effectiveness, and relationships with constituencies outside the institution. This voluntary accreditation function has two fundamental purposes: quality assurance and institutional and program improvement. 


University of the Southwest was granted accreditation in 1980, and has maintained continuous accreditation. The most recent HLC review took place during the 2013-2014 school year. 

For the most recent Self-Study report, click here.

The School of Education at University of the Southwest operates under the auspices of the New Mexico Public Education Department.

University of the Southwest is a member of the following organizations: